Five municipalities in Perth-Wellington are set to benefit from Ontario gas tax funding.

Perth-Wellington MPP Randy Pettapiece announced on Thursday that the five will receive over $785-thousand in public transit funding.

Those include the City of Stratford who will receive $460,482 and the Township of St.Marys which will receive $121,907.

In 2019, 107 municipalities will receive $364 million under the gas tax program with the share that each municipality receives based on a formula of 70 percent ridership and 30 percent population.

The province says the funds serve both the needs of urban and rural municipal transit systems with municipalities that contribute financially to public transit services eligible for funding.

2018-19 Gas Tax Allocations by Municipality:


Municipality of North Perth $64,941
City of Stratford $460,482
Township of Perth East $67,580
Municipality of West Perth $70,947  
Town of St. Marys (Perth South, Thames Centre, Zorra) $121,907